Welcome to our FAQ


What is Ninjutsu?
Ninjutsu is actually a term for a class of martial arts. In modern times, terms such as Kendo or karate. Historically, martial arts were known by the name of the specific school of the art (also called a Ryu or Ryuha in Japanese).

The 9 Bujinkan schools are:

1.                Togakure Ryu
Founded in the late 1100′s by Daisuke Nishina.

2.                Gyokko Ryu
Founded in the mid 1100′s by Tozawa Hakuunsai.

3.                Kukishinden Ryu
Founded in the mid 1300 by Izumo Kanja Yoshitero.

4.                Shindenfudo Ryu
Founded in the beginning of 1100 by Izumo Kaja Yoshitero.

5.                Gyokushin Ryu
Founded in the mid 1500 by Sasaki Goemon Teruyoshi.

6.                Koto Ryu
Founded in the mid 1500 by Sakagami Taro Kunishige.

7.                Gikan Ryu
Founded in the mid 1500 by Uryu Hangan Gikanbo.

8.                Takagiyoshin Ryu
Founded in the beginning of 1600 by Takagi Oriuemon Shigenobu.

9.                Kumogakure Ryu

Founded in the mid 1500 by Iga Heinaizaemon No Jo Ienaga.



What exactly is the Bujinkan and what is Budo taijutsu?
The term Bujinkan is the name of the world wide martial arts training organization which was founded by Soke (head teacher) Masaaki Hatsumi. Hatsumi teaches his students the martial arts schools he learned from Toshitsugu Takamatsu. These nine schools are now taught together by Soke Hatsumi to his students. Of these nine schools, some are harder, some are softer, some contain weapons, and others do not. Collectively, the Bujinkan martial arts are known as Budo Taijutsu.


What is the connection between Ninja and Ninjutsu?
The term Ninja literally means something like a practitioner of Ninjutsu. Most people who train in Ninjutsu would not describe themselves as Ninja because Ninja implies not only a body of skills, but also a trade.


Is it dangerous?
Training in the martial arts has some inherent risk and you can certainly expect some bumps and bruising but real injury is rare.


Do I need to be fit?

Absolutely not you will be able to take it at your own pace and you’ll get fit by training


Is there an age requirement for the classes?

We do not have a hard limit on age as abilities and maturity varies but we do require that students are over 13 years of age. We do on occasion accept students under 13 unless if they are training with an older relative, such as one of their parents or in some cases an older sibling.


So what do I do if I want to start training?

Our training is not for everyone, and this should be no surprise. All martial arts are different, and some arts, as well as instructors, are better suited to one body type or temperament than another. If you would like to join the training, take a moment to talk with one of the instructors or register on the contact page.


Do I have to buy a lot of equipment?

No. You can start training in comfortable clothes. We train in all environments and conditions so clothes will tend to get grubby, and you will want to get a Gi (training uniform) soon.


Do I have to sign a contract?

We do not ever tie students in with contracts. Our training is about learning not business. If you are interested in training, that is wonderful. If, at some point, you decide it is not for you, then you can stop at any time. Classes are £5 per session and collected at the beginning of each class.


Some Bujinkan instructors are called "Shidoshi" on their web page, what does this mean?

The term "Shidoshi" is the formal title used in the Bujinkan for a student of Soke Hatsumi who has taken and passed the 5th Dan test. This test is administered only in Japan. In the past, this test was only administered by Hatsumi Sensei himself directly to each student who was ready to take the test. In recent years, as there have come to be students holding the highest rank of the Bujinkan (Judan-Ku, also known as 15th Dan), Hatsumi Sensei has begun instructing these students to themselves administer this test. Even so, the test is always administered in Hatsumi Sensei's presence.


What is a Shihan?

Similar to the term Shidoshi this term is used for those who have been awarded a 10th Dan or above.